Phillybookpick's Blog











{January 13, 2012}   Book Pick For The WEEK ( 12 ) !

THIS IS AN  HEART-WRENCHING STORY , TO MUCH DRAMA TO BE  TRUE OR  IS  IT . A MUST READ BOOK !

MEMOIR  TOLD  BY  THE  AUTHOR :

I was born in Birmingham, Alabama, November 14, 1959. I was the ninth of 11 children, the youngest of six girls. My father didn’t spend much time with me as a child and left home when I was around 8 years old. I grew up with my mother, who was a nurse. She retired from the University of Alabama in Birmingham after 30 years of nursing. We struggled as a very poor family in North Birmingham, Alabama. One of my brothers was killed in the Vietnam War and my mother received a death benefit. She used that money to move us to a better neighborhood. Between 11 children, there were four different fathers. Six of us children had the same father. There was another set of three children born to the same father. There were two other children born of two different fathers. You can imagine the difficulies we faced in our household. You will enjoy reading about all of that. I attended Lewis Elementary School, Norwood Elementary School, and Phillips High School. I married young and gave birth to my first daughter. I missed my senior year of high school because I was pregnant, and settled for my GED. After all of that, I enlisted in the United States Air Force. While on active duty, I completed my Associates Degree and was offered a scholarship to complete my Bachelors Degree in Computer Science. The Air Force was also where I began to date my soon-to-be husband, Stuart. After I graduated, I was commissioned as a Second Lieutenant and re-entered the Air Force. My first assignment was to Langley Air Force Base in Hampton, Virginia. It was there that I married and gave birth to my second daughter. Later that year, I was diagnosed with pulmonary sarcoidosis. Later, the sarcoidosis affected my brain and I was diagnosed with neurosarcoidosis.

Book Purchases Link :

http://www.amazon.com/Want-My-Darn-Skates-Memoir/dp/1438928726/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1326493253&sr=1-1

Mac says:

Nice book pick. I think that you can do with a few p.c. to power the message home a bit about this author, Is she an new author ? However other than that, this is wonderful book review blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.



NEAL says:

I read a book on helping educated other patients by sharing your story about how you successfully helped prevent infection or managed infection during chemotherapy!.



CARL says:

Your site makes it necessarily help to make critically book articles I would state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and so far? I amazed with the research you made to make this actual post extraordinary. Wonderful book review site!



lisa says:

I try to look for this book but i can’t find it. The link under the bookcover is not clickable. I wil try the link after your website is useable.



tartar says:

you have an excellent weblog right here!



mercu says:

This web site can be a walk-through for all of the data you needed about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll undoubtedly uncover it.



sue says:

Good post. .



mcnulty says:

thanks ! Added to your Feeder.



ivan says:

WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share…



keagle says:

There may be some validity reviews however I’ll take maintain opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and I would like more book reviews! Added to FeedBurner as nicely .
http://astore.amazon.com/cheaptvs01-20



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,301 other followers

